Sir Peter O'Sullevan Award

This annual event is the principal fund-raising initiative of The Sir Peter O'Sullevan Charitable Trust, which was set up in 1999 following the success of the first two Annual Awards.

The perpetual bronze in the shape of Peter's own racing binoculars, sculpted by Janie Beardsall, is awarded for a lifetime's contribution to the sport. It already bears the names of some of the most renowned and respected people in horseracing.

On November 27th, 2007, this prestigious award was presented to Michael W. Dickinson.

Michael W. Dickinson accepts the 2007 Sir Peter O'Sullevan Lifetime Award of Merit
Sir Peter O'Sullevan presents the award to Michael.

Previous Recipients

Sir Henry Cecil

Sir Henry Cecil - 2012

Clive Brittain

Clive Brittain - 2010

JP McManus

JP McManus - 2011

Michael Dickinson

Michael Dickinson - 2007

Reg Hollinshead

Reg Hollinshead - 2009

The Rt Hon The Lord Oaksey OBE

The Rt Hon
The Lord Oaksey OBE - 2008

Aga Khan

Aga Khan - 2006

Dick Francis CBE

Dick Francis CBE - 2004

Balding BrotherBalding Brother

The Balding Brothers - 2005

Pat Eddery

Pat Eddery - 2003

Vincent O'Brien

Vincent O'Brien - 2001

Her Majesty The Queen

Her Majesty The Queen - 2002

Lester Piggott

Lester Piggott - 2000

Major Dick Hern

Major Dick Hern - 1998

HM Queen Elizabeth

HM Queen Elizabeth - 1999

Marquess of Hartington

Marquess of Hartington - 1997

All profits from The Annual Award Lunch are distributed equally between the named beneficiaries of The Sir Peter O'Sullevan Charitable Trust. Registered UK Charity No. 1078889

Tapeta Footings Logo

Learn more about
Tapeta Footings

Tapeta Farm Logo

Learn more about
Tapeta Farm